Speech contests are a Toastmasters tradition. Each year thousands of Toastmasters compete in the Humorous, Evaluation, Table Topics and International speech contests. Competition begins with club contests and winners continue competing through the area, division and district levels. The International competition has two additional levels — semifinal and international.

Speech contests are an important part of the Toastmasters educational program. They provide an opportunity for Toastmasters to gain speaking experience, as well as an opportunity for other Toastmasters to learn by observing proficient speakers.

Vista Toastmasters has consistently produced champions who have gone on to win at advanced levels. We have the prestige of having a member who has competed twice in the International semifinals.

Recent Vista Club Contest Achievements:

International Speech       Vic Laxson
Table Topics                       Elise Furst
Humorous Speech            Cindy Zhao
Evaluation                         Vic Laxson

International Speech       Scott Brown
Table Topics                       Scott Brown
Humorous Speech            Lyn Porpora
Evaluation                         Scott Brown

International Speech        Eric Spencer
Table Topics                        Fred Eng
Humorous Speech             Susan Williams
Evaluation                           Susan Williams

International Speech         Elizabeth Judith
Table Topics                         Arlene Ponack
Humorous Speech              Debra Grist
Evaluation                            Susan Williams

International Speech         Vic Laxson
Table Topics                         Pam Craft
Humorous Speech              Mike Mark
Evaluation                            Lyn Porpora

International Speech         Elise Furst
Table Topics                         Deepak Raja
Humorous Speech              Les Hill
Evaluation                            Stephanie Swyers

International Speech          Linda Louise Logan
Table Topics                          Elise Furst
Humorous Speech               Ana Bustillos
Evaluation                             Dianne Reilly

International Speech         Joan Rumph
Table Topics                         Allyse Scott
Humorous Speech              Allyse Scott
Evaluation                            Lyn Porpora

International Speech          Larry Alario
Table Topics                         Manijeh Sheik
Humorous Speech              Ken Stevens
Evaluation                            Gloria Grehl

At the District 84 Evaluation Contest on Friday, November 17th 2018, Scott Brown won First Place. This was the last year in which District 84 held their fall conference.


At the District 84 International Speech Contest on Saturday, May 15, 2010, Larry Alario won First Place! This qualified him to advance to the semi-finals of the World Championship of Public Speaking in Palm Desert, California in August 2010. Larry previously had won First Place in the Club, Area, and Division contests in order to advance.

In 2009, Larry also swept first place from Club to District and advanced to Regional competition. This was the last year in which Toastmasters held Regional Contests under the previous contest format.

Larry Alario with Area Governor John Creighton

Current Club DCP Status
Distinguished Club Program Reports

Toastmasters International created The Distinguished Club Program which measures each club’s commitment in two areas: first, educational accomplishments (members achieving their goals) and secondly, membership (their ability to bring in new members to provide a stronger leadership base and a flow of fresh, new ideas and personalities.) The Toastmasters operational year runs from July 1 to June 30 of the following year. Clubs are challenged to reach 10 goals in the course of that year. President’s Distinguished Club status (9-10 goals) is the highest honor a club can achieve. Here is a brief history of Vista’s exemplary accomplishments over the years:

Select Distinguished Club – 7 or 8 Goals
2015 – 2016
2014 – 2015
2007 – 2008
1998 – 1999

President’s Distinguished Club – 9 or 10 Goals


2012 – 2013
2011 – 2012
2010 – 2011
2009 – 2010
2008 – 2009
2006 – 2007
2005 – 2006
2004 – 2005
2003 – 2004
2002 – 2003
2001 – 2002
2000 – 2001
1999 – 2000


Each year we honor the person who the members feel have served the club above and beyond their regular responsibilities. This award is called the “Toastmaster of the Year.” Past recipients of this award include:

2018     Vic Laxson

2017     Susan Williams
2016     Randall LaBranche
2015      Rikesh Amin
2014      Elise Furst
2013      Elise Furst
2012      Stephanie Swyers
2011      Gloria Grehl
2010      Larry Alario
2009     Laura Surovik
2008     John Creighton
2007     Lyn Porpora
2006     Andy Dooley
2005     Joan Rumph
2004     Edmee Reyes
2003     Lynne Lombardi
2002     Lyn Porpora
2001      Mike Dooley
2000     Gloria Grehl
1999      Jim Solomonson
1998      Jill Solomonson


The Toastmaster year runs from July 1 through June 30. Vista Toastmasters voted to have each office run for a six-month term.
Our Presidents include:

2017-2018     Scott Brown & Lyn Porpora
2016-2017    Randall LaBranche
2015-2016     Rikesh Amin
2014-2015     Elise Furst & Jamie Arias
2013-2014     Elise Furst & Lynn Ramsey
2012-2013       Rikesh Amin
2011-2012        Stephanie Swyers
2010-2011       Robin Daniels
2009-2010      Joan Rumph & Ken Stevens
2008-2009     Lyn Porpora & John Creighton
2007-2008     Ken Stevens
2006-2007     Andy Dooley
2005-2006     Joan Rumph
2004-2005     Edmee Reyes
2003-2004     Lynne Lombardi & Barbara Bergstrom
2002-2003     Lyn Porpora
2001-2002      Mike Dooley & Tom Goldman
2000-2001      Brenda DeArmond & Mike Dooley
1999-2000      Barbara Bergstrom
1998-1999        Jill Solomonson
1997-1998        Lyn Porpora & Gloria Grehl
1996-1997        Rob Reilly